All people of the world are equal

The Guru Granth Sahib
promotes the message of equality of all beings and at the same time
state that Sikh believers “obtain the supreme status” (SSGS, Page 446).
Discrimination of all types is strictly forbidden based on the Sikh
tenet Fatherhood of God which states that no one should be reckoned low
or high, stating that instead believers should –reckon the entire mankind as One (Akal Ustat, 15.85).
Sri Guru Granth Sahib promotes the concept of equality by
highlighting the fact that we are made of the same flesh, blood and bone
and we have the same light of God with us – Soul . Our building bricks are the same:

The God-conscious being is always unstained, like the sun, which
gives its comfort and warmth to all. The God-conscious being looks upon
all alike, like the wind, which blows equally upon the king and the poor

— Sri Guru Granth Sahib page 272 Full Shabad

The Gurus also encourage believers to promote social equality by sharing earnings with those in need.

Women’s Status

Main article: Women in Sikhism

Guru Nank Dev Ji said “Sikhi does not teach you to raise your hand on a women it teaches you to respect them”
Sikhism also preaches that equal respect should be given to women.

In the earth and in the sky, I do not see any second. Among all the women and the men, His Light is shining.[1]

— Sri Guru Granth Sahib page 223 Full Shabad


Sikhism is strictly monotheistic
in its belief. This means that God is believed to be the one and sole
Reality in the cosmos, meaning that no other being have extra-human
power. Sikh Gurus state that God alone is worthy of worship, and the
highest end of existence, that is mukti or liberation can come through Devotion to God alone.
Besides its monotheism, Sikhism also emphasizes another philosophical idea, which is known as monism,
a philosophical position which argues that the variety of existing
things can be explained in terms of a single reality or substance.
Furthermore one of the tenet of the religion is the belief that the
world is only a “vision” or illusion (Maya) and that God is the sole “Continuing Reality” so that selfishness, egoism and hate are meaningless.

God is merciful and infinite. The One and Only is all-pervading.
He Himself is all-in-all. Who else can we speak of? God Himself grants His gifts, and He Himself receives them.
Coming and going are all by the Hukam of Your Will; Your place is steady and unchanging. (20,1)

— Sri Guru Granth Sahib page 710 Full Shabad

Speak and live truthfully

Sikhs believe in the importance of truthful living, which can only be
created by purity of mind and not through religious purification rites.
They believe that impurity of mind leads to many other vices such as
anger, lust, attachment, ego, and greed.

So how can you become truthful? And how can the veil of illusion be torn away?
O Nanak, it is written that you shall obey the Hukam of His Command, and walk in the Way of His Will.

Control the five vices

Devotees of Guru Sahib believe they must control the animal instincts
of Pride/Ego, Anger/Temper, Greed/Urges, Attachment/Dependency and

All virtues are obtained, all fruits and rewards, and the desires of the mind; my hopes have been totally fulfilled.
The Medicine, the Mantra, the Magic Charm, will cure all illnesses and totally take away all pain.
Lust, anger, egotism, jealousy and desire are eliminated by chanting the Name of the Lord.

— Sri Guru Granth Sahib page 1388 Full Shabad

Live in God’s hukam

A Sikh believes they should live and accept the command of God easily
and without too much emotional distress. They attempt to live in
contentment and in Chardikala (positive attitude).

He wanders around in the four quarters and in the ten directions, according to the dictates of his karma.
Pleasure and pain, liberation and reincarnation, O Nanak, come according to one’s pre-ordained destiny.

— Sri Guru Granth Sahib page 253 Full Shabad


The Sikh religion emphasizes several other virtues: Truth (Sat), contentment (santokh), Love (Ishq), Compassion/Mercy (daya), Service (seva), Charity (dana), forgiveness (ksama), humility (nimrata), patience (dheerjh), non-attachment (vairagya) and renunciation (taiga).
These believers attempt to avoid anger (krodh), egoism (ahankara), avarice (lobh), lust (kama),
infatuation (moha), sinful acts (papa), pride (man), doubt (duvidha),
ownership (mamata), hatred (vair), and hostility (virodh). In the Sikh
religion, freedom from these vices, or Sahaj, is attained through
tension-free, ethical living, grounded in spirituality avoiding
self-mortification and other religious rites of cleansing.

First, is the Lord’s Praise; second, contentment; third, humility,
and fourth, giving to charities. Fifth is to hold one’s desires in
restraint. These are the five most sublime daily prayers.

— Sri Guru Granth Sahib page 1084 Full Shabad

Humility is the word, forgiveness is the virtue, and sweet speech is
the magic mantra. Wear these three robes, O sister, and you will
captivate your Husband Lord. ((127))

— Sri Guru Granth Sahib page 1384 Full Shabad

User Review
0 (0 votes)

Leave a Comment


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Want Exclusive Blogging Tips?


Signup For Access To Free Blogging Tips, WordPress, Make Money Online Tips & Resources
Give it a try, you can unsubscribe anytime.